Updated: Aug. 21, 2018

WSBA's 2013 Annual Awards Recipients

Thank you to all attendees of WSBA's Annual Awards Dinner in Seattle on Sept. 26, 2013. 

Award of Merit — Rebecca Roe, Kristin Houser, Adam Berger, and Bill Rutzick

This award is the WSBA's highest honor. and is given for a recent, singular achievement. It is awarded to individuals only — both lawyers and non-lawyers.

Lifetime Service Award — Donald Madsen

This award is a special award given for a lifetime of service to the legal community and the public.

Professionalism Award — Phillip H. Ginsberg

This honor is awarded to a WSBA member who exemplifies the spirit of professionalism in the practice of law, as defined in the WSBA's Creed of Professionalism.

Angelo Petruss Award for Lawyers in Government Service — Maureen Hart

Named in honor of Angelo R. Petruss, a senior assistant attorney general who passed away during his term of service on the WSBA Board of Governors, this award is given to a lawyer in government service who has made a significant contribution to the legal profession, the justice system, and the public.

Outstanding Judge Award — Judges Laura Inveen and Sharon Armstrong

This award is presented for outstanding service to the bench and for special contribution to the legal profession at any level of the court.

Pro Bono Award — Brian Buckley and GLBT Legal Clinic

This award is presented to a lawyer, non-lawyer, law firm, or bar association for outstanding cumulative efforts in providing pro bono services.

Public Service Award — Karen Murray

This award recognizes a WSBA member who exemplifies the WSBA's culture of service: one who gives back in meaningful ways to others, to his/her community, or to the profession.

Courageous Award — Carl Maxey

This award is presented to an individual who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, thus bringing credit to the legal profession.

Excellence in Diversity Award — Fé Lopez

This award is made to a lawyer, law firm, or law-related group that has made a significant contribution to diversity in the legal profession.

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award — Jacob Brennan

This award recognizes one attorney who has made significant contributions to the professional community, especially the community of young lawyers, within their initial years of practice.  Recipients must be active WSBA members within five years of admission to any bar association or under 36 years of age.

Norm Maleng Leadership Award — Judge T.W. "Chip" Small

This award is given jointly by the WSBA and the Access to Justice Board, in honor of Norm Maleng's legacy as a leader. He was an innovative and optimistic leader committed to justice and access to justice in both civil and criminal settings. Within the profession, his leadership was characterized by his love of the law and commitment to diversity and mentorship. This award recognizes those who embody these qualities.