Connect with Peers and Practitioners through WSBA's 29 Sections

Join Now

Sections members become part of active professional communities and gain access to an array of exclusive section member benefits. Over 10,000 WSBA members currently belong to one or more of the WSBA’s 29 sections. The section membership year begins Jan. 1.

Member Benefits

In the past year, WSBA Sections have sponsored approximately 70 CLE seminars and hosted multiple professional networking events around the state. Various sections offer a plethora of member benefits, including, but not limited to:

  • List serve communities
  • Newsletters, reports, deskbooks, and sourcebooks
  • Free and discounted CLEs
  • Opportunities to engage in the Washington state legislative process

...and more! Join a Section Today!

Interested in Section Leadership?

Each section is led by a group of volunteers who are elected to serve on the executive committee. Many find leading a section to be a rewarding experience because of the leadership growth, professional development, firsthand experience with the legislative process, and collegiality it offers. Executive committee discussions are productive and challenging, offering a unique opportunity to work with other legal professionals in a goal-oriented setting that benefits WSBA members and the greater legal community.

WSBA Sections are currently seeking section members to fill openings on their section executive committees for terms beginning Oct. 1, 2021. Consider applying to become a section leader!

Apply today!

For general sections questions, send an email with your Bar number to or call 800-945-9722.

WSBA Sections


Updated: July 29, 2021

Creditor Debtor Rights Section

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section offers its members numerous opportunities to stay current on relevant legal issues, comment on legislation, and participate in pro bono activities.

Section members represent a diverse array of individuals and businesses working as debtors, debtors-in-possession, secured and unsecured creditors, creditors' committees, receivers, trustees, asset purchasers, and examiners in all facets of creditor-debtor law.

On this site you can find links to additional information concerning the Section, including administration and governance; seminars, such as The Annual Northwest Bankruptcy Institute and the Pacific Northwest's premier seminar for insolvency counsel (cosponsored with the Oregon State Bar); Section projects, such as the annual grant award to associations that promote the mission of the Section; and legislative updates and news.

Annual Report  |  Budget  |  Bylaws  |  Year in Review  |  Resources

Join Now


Congratulations, Incoming Executive Committee Members!  

Below are the results of the Creditor Debtor Rights Section Executive Committee election. Thank you for voting!

For more information about the Section and its Executive Committee roles, please review the Section's bylaws.

At-Large Member - Eastern Division: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2021, and ending Sept. 30, 2023.

David Kazemba

At-Large Member - King County: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2021, and ending Sept. 30, 2023.

Christina Henry

At-Large Member - Southern Div. of Western District: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2021, and ending Sept. 30, 2023.

Thomas Dashiell 

At-Large Member – Western District: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2021, and ending Sept. 30, 2023.

Jacob DeGraaff 


Open Position - Section Newsletter Editor

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section is seeking to fill this nonvoting position on the executive committee. See  links below for more information and a sample issue.

Position Description

Summer 2019

Any and all interested volunteers are encouraged to submit a brief statement articulating their interest and the reasons why they believe they would be a good candidate for the job. 

These statements of interest  are due no later than March 15, 2021 and should be emailed to William Malaier (, copying Todd (, 

Comments Request: Proposed Receivership Act Revisions

The current Washington Receivership Act was enacted in 2004. After 15 years of practice under the Act, the Creditor Debtor Section convened a Receivership Task Force to review the current Washington Receivership Act and to propose possible amendments to the Act based upon practice experience.

The Receivership Task Force represented all constituencies in the receivership process and was comprised of Aimee Willig (Seattle), Barry Davidson (Spokane), Dominique Scalia (Seattle), Douglas Cameron (Seattle), Jennifer Faubion (Seattle), Kevin Hanchett (Seattle) and Shelly Ripley (Spokane), Steven Reilly (Seattle). 

After several meetings, the Task Force has drafted proposed amendments to the Washington Receivership Act. 

Comment Request Memo

Proposed Amendment to RCW 61.24.030

Proposed Amendment to RCW 7.60.130 (Cannabis Cases)

Proposed Amendment to RCW 7.60 Receivers

If you have any comments on the proposed amendments, please forward them to Todd Tracy at or 1601 Fifth Ave., Suite 610, Seattle, WA, 98101. Comments should be received by Dec. 31, 2020. 

Grants Program

Historically, the CD Section has allocated a meaningful portion of its net revenue (derived primarily from its CLE sponsorship and production efforts) to fund grants to non-profits operating in the arena of consumer protection and insolvency law. The amount of money offered each year varies with the budget cycle. 

Congratulations to the following 2019–2020 grant recipients:

  • Chelan-Douglas County Volunteer Attorney Services
  • Lavender Rights Project

Executive Committee

Officers serve two-year terms.

ChairWilliam Malaier, Jr.

Chair-ElectBruce Medeiros

Secretary/TreasurerTodd Tracy

Immediate Past ChairKevin O'Rourke

Young Lawyer Liaison*: vacant

Board of Governors Liaison*: Matthew Dresden

Pos. 1 Eastern District 
Brian Walker (2020-2022)

Pos. 2 Eastern District
Darren Digiacinto (2020-2022)

Pos. 3 Northern Division of Western District
Sallye Quinn (2020-2022)

Pos. 4 King County
Jennifer Faubion (2020-2022)

Pos. 5 King County
John Knapp (2019-2021)

Pos. 6 Southern Division of Western District
Russell Garrett (2020-2022)

Pos. 7 Southern Division of Western District
Samuel Dart (2019-2021)

Pos. 8 Eastern Division At-Large
David Kazemba (2019-2021)

Pos. 9 Western District At-Large
John Kaplan (2019-2021)

Newsletter Editor*

*Nonvoting member

Please contact subcommittee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

Join Our List Serve

To join the Section list serve and for general questions, please contact For questions about the Section and to get involved, please contact Section Chair William Malaier, Jr.


Feel free to contact any member of the current Section Executive Committee or email