2015 WSBA Annual Awards Banquet, Sept. 17

 2015 WSBA Annual Awards Leading the Way

Honor your colleagues and friends and celebrate the WSBA's 125th anniversary!

What:  Annual Awards Dinner and Celebration

When: Thursday, Sept. 17; cocktails 5:30 p.m., dinner 6:30 p.m.

Where: Sheraton Seattle, 1400 Sixth Ave., Seattle

Register now! 


2015 Award Recipients, Categories and Descriptions

Award of Merit - 2015 recipients: Deborah M. Niedermeyer & Manuel F. Rios III, Seattle
This award is the WSBA's highest honor and is given for a recent, singular achievement. It is awarded to individuals only — both lawyers and non-lawyers.

Lifetime Service Award - 2015 recipient: Hon. Susan W. Cook, Mount Vernon
This award is a special award given for a lifetime of service to the legal community and the public.

Professionalism Award – 2015 recipient: Matthew L. Clucas, Poulsbo
This honor is awarded to a WSBA member who exemplifies the spirit of professionalism in the practice of law, as defined in the WSBA's Creed of Professionalism.

Angelo Petruss Award for Lawyers in Government Service – 2015 recipient: Robert K. Costello, Olympia
Named in honor of Angelo R. Petruss, a senior assistant attorney general who passed away during his term of service on the WSBA Board of Governors, this award is given to a lawyer in government service who has made a significant contribution to the legal profession, the justice system, and the public.

Outstanding Judge Award - 2015 recipient: Hon. James P. Hutton, Yakima
This award is presented for outstanding service to the bench and for special contribution to the legal profession at any level of the court.

Pro Bono Award - 2015 recipient: The Latino Legal Clinic, Seattle
This award is presented to a lawyer, non-lawyer, law firm, or bar association for outstanding cumulative efforts in providing pro bono services.

Public Service Award - 2015 recipient: Kenneth G. Kieffer, Tacoma
This award recognizes a WSBA member who exemplifies the WSBA's culture of service: one who gives back in meaningful ways to others, to his/her community, or to the profession.

Courageous Award - 2015 recipient: Hunter M. Abell, Seattle
This award is presented to an individual who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, thus bringing credit to the legal profession.

Excellence in Diversity Award - 2015 recipient: The Judicial Institute
This award is made to a lawyer, law firm, or law-related group that has made a significant contribution to diversity in the legal profession.

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award - 2015 recipient: Vincent D. Humphrey II, Bellevue
This award recognizes one attorney who has made significant contributions to the professional community, especially the community of young lawyers, within their initial years of practice. Recipients must be active WSBA members within five years of admission to any bar association or under 36 years of age.

Norm Maleng Leadership Award - 2015 recipient: Breean L. Beggs, Spokane
This award is presented jointly by the WSBA and the Access to Justice Board, in honor of Norm Maleng's legacy as a leader. He was an innovative and optimistic leader committed to justice and access to justice in both civil and criminal settings. Within the profession, his leadership was characterized by his love of the law and commitment to diversity and mentorship. This award recognized those who embody those qualities.

Past WSBA Annual Award Recipients

Access to Justice Board Awards

Nominate people and organizations who make access to the justice system a reality for people in need.


If you have questions, email Sue Strachan or call 206-733-5903.