Minutes of the WSBA Elder Law Section ("Section") Executive Committee

July 18, 2017 Teleconference Meeting

Attendance.

<u>Members Present</u>: Kameron Kirkevold (Chair), Meredith Childers, Karen Boxx, Matthew Parker, Carla Calogero, Suzanne Thompson Wininger, Michael Longyear, Megan Farr, Dick Sayre, Miriam Ayoub.

<u>Members Absent</u>: Peggy Sanders, Eric Watness, Ann LoGerfo, Michael Longyear, Amy Freeman, Mark Vohr, Ronald St. Hilaire.

<u>Liaisons Present</u>: Joe Terrenzio (WSBA Sections Liaison).

<u>Liaisons Absent</u>: Angela Hayes (BOG Liaison), and Katie Hurt (Young Lawyer Cmte. Liaison/Legislative).

<u>June Minutes</u>. Carla mentioned a necessary amendment to the proposed minutes. The minutes were unanimously approved as amended.

<u>Peter Greenfield Internship</u>: Meredith has reached out to the University of Washington, as the next Peter Greenfield intern will be from UW. Meredith also reported that she and Miriam met with the WSBA regarding fundraising for the Peter Greenfield Internship. She discussed combining an outreach and auction event.

<u>CLE Update</u>. Suzanne provided an update on speaker, topics, and time slots for the September 8, 2017 CLE.

Speaker Request: Kameron received a request from an individual who is looking for an attorney to present at a senior center. Kameron will forward the information to Carla.

<u>Marijuana Law Section</u>: Kameron reported that there is proposal to start a new marijuana/cannabis law section. As a section, we have the authority to comment on that proposal. Our section at this time will not comment, unless anyone raises the issue at a later time.

<u>WA Public Guardianship Taskforce</u>: Mike Longyear recommended reaching out to Washington Association of Public Guardians (WAPG) regarding the WA Public Guardianship Taskforce. The executive committee intends to contact the WAPG board regarding the matter.

Executive Committee Nominations: Carla is heading up the nominating committee pursuant to our bylaws. The nominating committee includes Carla Calogero, Kameron Kirkevold, Megan Farr, and Michelle Graunke. The nominating committee will go out to the membership by August 1, 2017.

Meeting adjourned.