Civil Rights Law Section Annual Meeting and Mini-CLE

Summary

September 23, 2016 -- 2:30 to 5:00 p.m.

Washington State Bar Association - 1325 4th Ave., Suite 600 Seattle 98101

1. Mini-CLE - Voting Rights Act Update: Washington and Around the Nation

Presentation on Legal Update on the Enforcement of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 including Result of Elections in Yakima; Work on Change in Voting System in Pasco; and Court Challenges to Voter ID Laws and changes to Voting Procedures in Various States around the nation.

Overview presentation by Alec Stephens, Civil Rights Law Section (CRLS) Chair.

Main Presentation by La Rond Baker, CRLS Trustee and incoming Chair-Elect.

2. CRLS Annual Meeting

A. Election of Open Trustee Positions

The Executive Committee nominated Kristi Cruz, Sarah Derry, and Amy Kim at its August 26 meeting to serve 3 year terms as Section Trustees on the Executive Committee beginning October 1, 2016. There being no other nominations, it was moved and seconded to approve the nominations by acclimation. Motion Passed and Cruz, Derry and Kim were elected.

B. Notification of election of Officers

Consistent with the By-laws, as there were no additional nominees, the following officers were elected:

Chair-Elect: La Rond Baker

Treasurer: Bridget Bourgette Shaw

Secretary: Dan Gallagher

C. Notification of Re-Appointment of Young Lawyer Liaison

Attendees to the Annual Meeting were notified that Kathleen Kline has been reappointed to serve as Young Lawyer Liaison to the CRLS Executive Committee and pending WSBA Board of Governors approval of a submitted By-laws change, the Young Lawyer Liaison will be a voting member on the CRLS Executive Committee.

D. Notification of the CRLS Executive Committee as a result of the Elections and Appointments.

The following individuals will serve on the CRLS Executive Committee for the 2016-17 WSBA Program Year:

Chair: Kelli Schmidt

Chair-Elect: La Rond Baker

Treasurer: Bridget Bourgette Shaw

Secretary: Dan Gallagher

Immediate Past Chair: Alec Stephens

<u>Trustees</u>

Beverly Grant (3 Year term through 9-30-17)

Calandra Sechrist (3 Year term through 9-30-17)

Kristi Cruz (3 Year term through 9-30-19)

Sarah Derry (3 Year term through 9-30-19)

Amy Kim (3 Year term through 9-30-19)

Young Lawyer Liaison: Kathleen Kline

Board of Governors Liaison: Bill Pickett

E. Award of 2015 and 2016 Distinguished Service Awards and Civic Leader Awards

Distinguished Service Award

Recipients are primarily attorneys who have demonstrated in their career regular work for the expansion or defense of civil rights protections at the local, state or national level. The following persons are being recognized for their distinguished service, with a brief statement from their nominators:

- 2015 Distinguished Service Award, Michele Storms
- 2016 Distinguished Service Award, Adam Moore

Former CRLS Trustee and Legislative Affairs Co-Chair Nancy Talner and CRLS Trustee and Chair-Elect La Rond Baker presented the 2015 Award to Michele Storms.

Board of Governors Liaison Bill Pickett shared a tape from Adam Moore in appreciation of the award, and accepted the 2016 Award for Adam Moore, who was not able to attend the Annual Meeting due to a milestone wedding anniversary event with family out of state.

Civic Leader Award

Recipients are attorneys, individuals or organizations that represent or advocate on behalf of people or legal issues regarding civil rights, civil liberties, or basic human rights such as freedom from discrimination, protection from abuse, or obtaining essential human services such as food, healthcare and shelter. The following persons are being recognized for their distinguished service, with a brief statement from their nominator:

- 2015 Joint Civic Leader Award, Larry Gossett & Bob Santos
- 2016 Civic Leader Award, Rep. Luis Moscoso

As he was out of State for a prior family event commitment, Maria Ramos, Rep. Moscoso's Legislative Assistant, accepted the 2016 Civic Leader Award on his behalf.

Unfortunately, the 2015 Joint Civic Leader Award could not be presented due to the recent death of Bob Santos. As it came to pass, a major community Memorial/Remembrance Event was scheduled overlapping the CRLS Annual Meeting. As Larry Gossett is the last surviving member of "The Gang of Four", Councilmember Gossett also was unable to attend the Annual Meeting as he had a major role at Bob Santos' Memorial/Remembrance Event.

The CRLS will present the 2015 Joint Civic Leader Award to a representative for Bob Santos and to Larry Gossett at an appropriate future CRLS event or gathering.

3. Adjournment and Section Reception

There being no further business, the 2016 Annual Meeting of the Civil Rights Law Section adjourned and attended the Section's Reception.