Administrative Law Section

of the Washington State Bar Association



Minutes Administrative Law Section Executive Committee Telephonic Meeting October 16, 2023

Executive Committee Members Present: Ed Pesik (Chair); Susan Dumph (Chair Elect); Robert Krabill (Acting Secretary, Treasurer); Eileen Keiffer; Alexis Gobeske; Seth Rosenberg; Isaac Prevost; Jennifer Karol; Michael Lantz

Also Present: Richelle Little; John Gray; Richard Potter; Devin Curda; Carolyn MacGregor

Absent Executive Committee Members Lea Dickerson (Past Chair, Secretary)

Meeting called to order

1. Approval of Minutes (all)

Postponed until November.

2. Approval of Agenda (all)

Approved.

3. Financial update (Robert Krabill)

Homan award outlay approved by bar. Robert will prepare a supportive memo, if necessary.

4. <u>Committee updates</u>

4.1 Elections (John Gray)

Election results:

Chair Elect: Susan Dumph

Secretary: Lea Dickerson

Treasurer: Robert Krabill

Board Members: Isaac Prevost, Jennifer Karol, Michael Lantz (Robert Rhodes, Daryl Dumph)

New Vacancy: Tim O'Connell resigned.

Motion to appoint Daryl Dumph to Board member position expiring 2024 vacated by Robert Krabill. (Devin Curda, 2nd Robert Krabill)

Motion to appoint Robert Rhoads to Board member position expiring 2025 vacated by Susan Dumph.

Motion to appoint Richelle Little to Board member position expiring 2024 vacated by Tim O'Connell. (Ed Pesik, 2nd Devin Curda)

Motions carried unanimously. Daryl Dumph appointed to fill Board member position expiring 2024 vacated by Robert Krabill. Robert Rhoades appointed to fill Board member position expiring 2025 vacated by Susan Dumph. Richelle Little appointed to fill Board member position expiring 2024 vacated by Tim O'Connell.

Michael Lantz introduced self as recent transplant from Alaska. Past experience working for the Oregon legislature.

Isaac Prevost introduced self as private practitioner representing parties in administrative hearings.

Robert Rhodes and Daryl Dumph to vacated Board member seats when positions formally vacated. Will need to run again Spring 2024 to hold position beyond next year.

4.2 CLE Committee (Susan Dumph)

Homan Award CLE: the Supreme Court takes on *Chrevron* deference in *Loper Bright Enterprises* v. Raimondo and Murray v. UBS Securites; seeking speakers.

Ann Seidel presenting a CLE 10/17 on attorney discipline.

Confirmed Susan Dumph as chair.

4.3 Diversity and Outreach (Alexis Gobeske)

New board member Isaac Prevost a previous mentee. Seeking new mentors and mentees.

Alexis nominated Robert Rhoades as co-chair.

4.4 Homan Award (Eileen Keiffer)

Awardee is Johnette Sullivan. Event set for 12/11/2023 at the Mercado in Olympia. Plan a reception, award ceremony, and a CLE over dinner.

Confirmed Eileen Keiffer as chair.

4.5 Newsletter (Susan Dumph)

Published a Spring newsletter under Bill's guidance. Susan willing to take over for the Fall issue. Proposal to make editor a board position with a 3 year commitment. Probably would need to revise the bylaws.

Chris Swanson nominated for the role of editor or co-editor.

Proposal that one of the new Board members serve. No immediate volunteers.

4.6 Legislative (John Gray)

No new legislative activity. No new PRA rule making activity. John Gray testified in recent past in support of improved rules.

Confirmed Richard Potter as chair.

Michael Lantz nominated as a new member.

4.7 Publications (Richelle Little)

Confirmed Richelle Little as chair. Richelle is seeking an assistant.

Edit two chapters of the Administrative Practice Manual annually.

Edit entire Public Records Act Deskbook revised every five years. Next due 2024/2025.

4.8 Retreat (Devin Curda)

Confirmed May 10-12, 2024 dates at Alderbrook. Deposit paid.

5. Good of the Order

Carolyn MacGregor introduced herself as WSBA liaison to the section.

Section leaders Fall Orientation

When:	Monday, November 13, 2023
Time:	9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Where:	Zoom Video Conference Phone: 888-788-0099 (toll free), (253) 215-8782 (local)
	Meeting ID: 852 1924 8825 Passcode: 609620
RSVP:	Click here to RSVP or (copy and paste this URL into your web browser): https://forms.office.com/g/01NFTR4wBd. Please RSVP by Monday, November 6.
Who:	All section executive committee members (new and continuing) are welcome to

All section executive committee members (new and continuing) are welcome to attend. Your participation is highly encouraged. We request that at least one member of your executive committee attend.

6. Next Meeting

Next meeting set for November 20, 2023 at 1200.

Meeting adjourned.