Administrative Law Section

of the Washington State Bar Association



Minutes

Administrative Law Section Executive Committee and Committee Chairs Annual Meeting, September 20, 2016

Executive Board Members:

Gabe Verdugo (Chair), Stephen Manning (Chair-Elect), Polly McNeill (Secretary/Treasurer), Katy Hatfield (Immediate Past Chair), Jon Bashford, Margie Gray, Susan Pierini, Liz Steen, Robert Rhodes, Janell Stewart

Committee Chairs:

Diversity Committee Chair – John Gray

Absent:

Board Members: Lisa Malpass, Paula Martin, Liz Steen

Committee Chairs: Suzanne Mager, Jeffrey Litwak, Richard Potter

Annual Meeting Business

- Chair Gabe Verdugo gave an overview of Section accomplishments for 2015-2016, including:
 - Three mini-CLEs on the topics of civility among lawyers in administrative proceedings, the intersection of administrative and criminal law, and the Open Public Meetings Act – immediately following the Annual Meeting;
 - Two newsletters including summaries of important cases in administrative law and updates on pending legislation;
 - Ongoing updates to the Public Records Deskbook and the Administrative Law Practice Manual;
 - A student fellowship grant, a public service grant, and the annual Homan Award.
- Chair Verdugo introduced the slate of nominations for the 2016-2017 terms, as recommended by the Nominations Committee, as follows:

Stephen Manning: Chair

Polly McNeill: Chair Elect

• Jon Bashford: Treasurer

• Katy Hatfield: Secretary

Renewing Trustees: Margie Gray & Janell Stewart (exp 2019);

- New Trustees: Robert Krabill (OAH) and Chad Standifer (AGO)
- Jon Bashford moved to approve the slate as recommended;
- Susan Pierinii seconded;
- The slate was approved by unanimous vote.
- The Annual Meeting was adjourned, and a social reception for all members was enjoyed.
- Attendees were encouraged to convene in the next room for the mini-CLE on the Open Public Meeting, presented by Nancy Krier, Senior Counsel with the Office of Attorney General.