License Fees

2018 Fee Details

Deadline: Feb. 1, 2018

License Fees must be paid online, hand-delivered to the WSBA or postmarked by
Feb. 1, 2018.*


Active Lawyer
Admitted to ANY Bar prior to 2016
2018 License Fee

$449

Client Protection Fund assessment 

$30

Total Payment

$479

After Feb. 1, 2018; add 30% late fee of $134.70

$613.70


Active Lawyer
Admitted to ANY Bar in 2016 or 2017
2018 License Fee

$224.50

Client Protection Fund assessment 

$30

Total Payment

$254.50

After Feb. 1, 2018; add 30% late fee of $67.35

$321.85


Inactive or Emeritus Pro Bono Status
2018 License Fee

$200

After Feb. 1, 2018; add 30% late fee of $60

$260


Judicial
Maintain eligibility to transfer to another status
2018 License Fee

$50

After Feb. 1, 2018; add 30% late fee of $15.00

$65


*The late fee will be assessed if checks and credit card payments submitted on time do not clear by the deadline.

Please note: Our service provider will charge you a separate, non-refundable transaction fee of 2.5% on all bank card transactions (we only accept Visa, MasterCard and American Express). There is no transaction fee for check payments and members who renew online will have the option of printing an invoice to mail in with a check.

OPTIONAL Charitable Donation to the Washington State Bar Foundation

Your annual license renewal includes an optional charitable donation to the Washington State Bar Foundation to help advance justice through support of WSBA’s public service and diversity programs. To opt out or donate a different amount, follow the instructions on myWSBA or on the License Renewal Form.

OPTIONAL Charitable Donation to the Campaign for Equal Justice

Your annual license renewal includes an optional charitable donation to Campaign for Equal Justice to support more than 20 civil legal aid programs that serve our state’s poorest families and individuals. To opt out or donate a different amount, follow the instructions on myWSBA or on the License Renewal Form.

License Fee Tier Structure for new attorneys

The WSBA understands that the first few years of practice can be financially challenging for new attorneys. Because of this, for your first two full licensing years after admission in any jurisdiction, you pay 50% of the full active fee. You do not begin paying the full license fee until you reach your third full year of practice after admission in any jurisdiction.

1st and 2nd full year after admission in any jurisdiction: 50% of full rate.
3rd full year after admission in any jurisdiction and above: full rate.

Client Protection Fund

Keller Deduction

Members may elect to reduce their license fee payment by the pro rata amount used for political activities not related to regulating the practice of law or improving the quality of legal services.